Tarsal bones

  • The tarsal bones (also known as tarsus, latin: ossa tarsi) form a group of seven articulating bones in the foot located between the bones of the lower leg (tibia, fibula) and the metatarsal bones.

    There are 7 tarsal bones in each foot, and they are called the calcaneus, talus, cuboid bone, navicular bone, and the medial, intermediate, lateral cuneiform bones.