Skeleton of lower limb

  • The skeleton of the lower limb (or lower extremity) consists of the pelvis or pelvic skeleton (also known as pelvic girdle) and three parts of the free lower extremity: the thigh, the leg and the foot.

    The pelvis is made up from two hip bones and the sacrum.

    The skeleton of the thigh is formed by a single bone - the femur, and the leg (also known as lower leg) consists of two bones - the tibia and fibula.

    Between the thigh and the leg in the anterior knee region lies the largest sesamoid bone in the human body, the patella.

    The final part of the lower limb is the foot, and the skeleton of the human foot is formed by about 26 bones.